Here’s What We Have Planned for Nurses’ Week. Join Us!

Submitted by smaple on May 5, 2020
Nurses' Week graphic

 

May 6 - Wow ‘Em Wednesday 

8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT
Nurses’ Week Art Show - Facebook Live Event
Hear from artists who created pieces with the theme: #ProtectNurses: All Our Lives Depend On It.

Watch the recorded Facebook Live event here.

View the online gallery here.
 

May 7 - Throwdown Thursday

10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT 
Nurses take to the streets of D.C. to demand action be taken to protect nurses on the front lines of COVID-19. Tune into a Facebook Live of the action on NNU Executive Director Bonnie Castillo's Facebook page.

California nurses will lobby their representatives in the state Senate and Assembly via Zoom, calling for COVID-19 protections and to pass A.B.664.

Visit protectnurses.org to take national action!

May 8 - Fight Back Friday

California nurses will lobby their representatives in the state Senate and Assembly via Zoom, calling for COVID-19 protections.

Everyone everywhere can visit protectnurses.org to take national action!
 

May 9  - Sharing Saturday

Visit and share NNU’s memorial website for nurses who have lost their lives to COVID-19: HonorFallenNurses.org, where you can honor fallen nurses, share memories, and take collective action to protect nurses on the front lines.  
 

May 10 - Survey Sunday (Mother’s Day)

Some nurses are spending this Mother’s Day separated from their children for fear of bringing the virus home. We will honor them by sharing their personal stories, while we fight for optimal PPE to protect nurses, so they can protect their families, in turn. Follow NNU Executive Director Bonnie Castillo for a special Mother's Day post.

We will also be sharing our latest survey for nurses on what’s happening in your facility.

Take the COVID-19 survey and help inform reports about and recommendations for handling the pandemic.
 

May 11 - Mad as Hell Monday

Nurses’ Week special edition: Facebook Live with Canadian Federation of Nurses Union (at NNU Executive Director Bonnie Castillo’s Facebook page) 6:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. PT

We’ll be talking about the different experiences nurses in Canada have compared to the US. So far, no nurses have died from COVID-19 in Canada where they have access to safe PPE.
 

May 12 - Together Tuesday

Nurses will come together in a 1,000-person Zoom vigil for nurses we have lost to COVID-19. You can watch the vigil on NNU Executive Director Bonnie Castillo’s Facebook page.

Nurses' Week schedule graphic