California Nurses Foundation scholarships

Submitted by amyjune on September 19, 2017

CNA/NNOC offers the following scholarship awards to members who are enrolled in formal education programs or attending educational conferences, as well as for students enrolled in an Associate Degree Nursing program (or equivalent). Applications for the 2023/2024 academic year are now closed.

Funds to awardees are distributed in the fall from the California Nurses Foundation, a 501(c)3 organization.

For any questions about the program, please email us at

Scholarships for CNA/NNOC members

Alameda County Scholarship

The Alameda County Scholarship Program was established in 1927 by members of the Alameda County Nurses Association to benefit members from Alameda County, CA who are enrolled in formal education programs, attending educational conferences or classes, or engaged in health educational efforts in underserved communities.

Gannon Scholarship

The Gannon Scholarship was established by members of the Region 10 California Nurses Association (now CNA-NNOC) to fund members in the Los Angeles County area who are enrolled in formal education programs or attending educational conferences or classes.

Scholarships for nursing students

Martha Horton Scholarship

The Martha Horton Scholarship was established in 2002 to encourage ethnic and socio-economic diversity in nursing.  The scholarship is intended to support those accepted for admission to a 2 year accredited Associate Degree Nursing Program and planning to complete the degree program within two years.  Applicants must live in California, and in Marin, Sonoma, Napa, Humboldt, Mendocino, Contra Costa, or Solano County.

Sandra R Spaulding Memorial Scholarship

Originally established at the 1985 CNA House of Delegates, the California Nurses Association/National Nurses Organizing Committee (CNA/NNOC)  Sandra R. Spaulding Memorial Scholarship Fund is intended to encourage ethnic and socio-economic diversity in nursing. Applicants must be enrolled in the second year of a two-year accredited Associate Degree of Nursing (ADN) program located in the following states: AL, AZ, CA, CO, DC, FL, GA, IA, IL, KS, KY, ME, MO, NV, NC, NY, OH, TX, or WV.

*California Nurses Foundation (CNF) is a nonprofit, founded in 1971, dedicated to charitable, scientific and educational purposes. Donations to CNF are tax deductible to the extent limited by law.