Public Health, a History.

This course will explore the history of the public health movement,  featuring exemplary individuals who brought insights, energy and leadership to the long struggle to enact public health policies.​ The course will focus on nurses as guardians of the public’s health, through inspiring examples of nurse-led social programs and community initiatives, and the significant contribution the nursing profession has made to the progress of public health.​

Course Objectives

Upon completion of this course, participants will be able to:​

  1. Understand historic challenges to enacting robust public health measures and systems.​ ​
  2. Describe Nurses historic and current role in promoting public health.​ ​
  3. Identify how knowledge of past nurse led public health initiatives can inform present day nurses on how to effectively advocate for and lead equitable comprehensive, public health systems.

Instructors: Gerard Brogan, RN, Patricia Gonzalez, RN, Rochelle Pardue-Okimoto, RN

Course Details

This will be a 3-hour online class via Zoom for 3 hour of continuing education credits.

After registering at the link below, you will receive an invitation to the Zoom class via email. It is important that you respond to the invitation and register for the Zoom class prior to the day of the class.

Locations

Online
June 15, 2021
10:00am-1:00pm PT/1:00pm-4:00pm ET
Online
June 30, 2021
2:00pm-5:00pm PT/5:00pm-8:00pm ET
Online
July 13, 2021
10:00am-1:00pm PT/1:00pm-4:00pm ET
Online
July 27, 2021
2:00pm-5:00pm PT/5:00pm-8:00pm ET
Online
August 10, 2021
10:00am-1:00pm PT/1:00pm-4:00pm ET
Online
August 17, 2021
2:00pm-5:00pm PT/5:00pm-8:00pm ET
Online
August 24, 2021
10:00am-1:00pm PT/1:00pm-4:00pm ET
Online
September 7, 2021
2:00pm-5:00pm PT/5:00pm-8:00pm ET
Online
September 16, 2021
10:00am-1:00pm PT/1:00pm-4:00pm ET
Online
September 23, 2021
2:00pm-5:00pm PT/5:00pm-8:00pm ET