Just-in-Time Management and the Factory-Hospital: How We Got Here and How Nurses Can Take Charge of Where We’re Headed

In recent decades, hospitals have increasingly taken their lead from manufacturing models designed to increase efficiency and impose standardization on their workforces. This course will examine how hospitals’ adoption of profit-driven tactics such as lean production, just-in-time inventories, and global supply chains has led to over-stressed and unsafe workplaces, amplifying the Covid-19 crisis and jeopardizing the well-being of nurses and patients alike. Crucially, we will discuss measures nurses have taken and can continue to take to fight back against these harmful trends and advocate for a health system that prioritizes preparedness and public health.

Objectives

Upon completion of this course, participants should be able to:

  1. Chart a timeline describing hospitals’ integration of just-in-time management strategies into the healthcare setting.
  2. Link the hospital industry’s historical cost-cutting practices to current staffing and supply crises.
  3. Explain how collective action and public advocacy can help create safeguards around patient care and safer healthcare workplaces.

Instructor: KB Burnside-Oxendine

Course Details

This will be a 1-hour online class via Zoom for 1 hour of continuing education credits.

After registering, you will receive an invitation to the Zoom class via email. It is important that you respond to the invitation and register for the Zoom class prior to the day of the class.

Locations

June 1, 2021
3–4 p.m. PT/ 6–7 p.m. ET
July 1, 2021
10–11 a.m. PT/ 1–2 p.m. ET