Fighting the Monopoly Epidemic

From hospitals to health insurance to pharmaceuticals, today’s health care industries are increasingly dominated by monopolies. This class will explore the causes and effects of corporate consolidation and market concentration; how monopoly power in health care and other parts of the economy threatens the health and wellbeing of nurses, patients, and our communities; and what nurses can do to fight the monopoly epidemic.

Objectives: Upon completion of this course, participants should be able to:

  • Identify the drivers of increasing monopolization in health care
  • Describe the health and socioeconomic impacts of this trend
  • Explain how to address the monopoly epidemic through collective action, regulation, and comprehensive health care reform like Medicare for All.

Instructor: Chris Nielsen

Course Details

This will be a 1-hour online class via Zoom for 1 hour of continuing education credits.

After registering at the link below, you will receive an invitation to the Zoom class via email. It is important that you respond to the invitation and register for the Zoom class prior to the day of the class.

Locations

Online
August 19, 2021
12pm-1pm PT/3pm-4pm ET
Online
September 17, 2021
12pm-1pm PT/3pm-4pm ET
Online
October 19, 2021
2pm-3pm PT/5pm-6pm ET
Online
October 26, 2021
12pm-1pm PT/3pm-4pm ET
Online
November 11, 2021
10am-11am PT/1pm-2pm ET
Online
November 16, 2021
10am-11am PT/1pm-2pm ET