A Brief History of the American Hospital Industry

This course will provide a brief history of how American hospitals went from local charitable and public institutions focused on patient and community need to the vast, profit-driven industry they comprise today. We will consider how various social, political, and economic developments—including major reforms like the introduction of Medicare and the ACA, the increasing privatization and corporatization of health care, and the workplace and public advocacy of nurses and other patient advocates—have shaped the industry. We will examine the consequences of this history for nurses, patients, and communities in the present, including how common industry practices left us uniquely vulnerable to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Objectives

Upon completion of this course, participants should be able to:

  1. Discuss the role of public policy and funding in the hospital industry.
  2. Identify how hospital industry business practices have impacted marginalized patients and communities.
  3. Explain how nurses have shaped the industry in the past and can continue to advocate for hospitals that are more equitable and responsive to community needs.

Instructor: Omid Mohamadi

Course Details

This will be a 2-hour online class via Zoom for 2 hours of continuing education credits.

After registering, you will receive an invitation to the Zoom class via email. It is important that you respond to the invitation and register for the Zoom class prior to the day of the class.

Locations

June 1, 2021
10 a.m.–12 p.m. PT/ 1–3 p.m. ET
June 17, 2021
1–3 p.m. PT/ 4–6 p.m. ET
June 23, 2021
10 a.m.–12 p.m. PT/ 1–3 p.m. ET
July 7, 2021
10 a.m.–12 p.m. PT/ 1–3 p.m. ET