Sign Up for Updates

The Blog

Oppose AB 2348 proposed by Assemblymember Holly Mitchell

, 4/20/12

California Nurses Association calls it a major encroachment on nurse practitioners’ practice and unsafe expansion of registered nurses’ scope of practice.

AB 2348 proposes to expand the registered nurse (RN) scope of practice for dispensing medication in community, free and primary health clinics. This bill will allow registered nurses after performing an assessment to hand out “hormonal contraceptives” to women which include:

• Oral contraceptives often referred to as “the pill”
• Emergency contraceptives often referred to as “the morning after pill”
• Contraceptive vaginal rings and contraceptive patches
• Any other means of contraception that may be developed in the future that would fall under the category of “hormonal” contraception

Currently, nurse practitioners and certified nurse midwives under standardized procedures are allowed to furnish hormonal contraceptives to patients after performing an assessment.
 
CNA supports the expansion of primary health services for women with a single standard of high quality care for everyone. However, this bill encroaches on the practice of nurse practitioners in an effort by employers to use lower paid registered nurses to provide these family planning services.  
 
HOW YOU CAN HELP:
 
Contact Members of the Assembly Business, Profession & Consumer Protections Committee before Tuesday, April 24th and ask them to oppose AB 2348 because all women deserve quality family planning services.
 
Members of Assembly Business, Professions and Consumer Protection Committee:
 
Chair, Assemblywoman Mary Hayashi (Hayward): p (916) 319-2018
Email  Assemblymember.hayashi@assembly.ca.gov
 
Vice Chair, Assemblyman Bill Berryhill (Stockton): p (916) 319-2026
Email  Assemblymember.bill.berryhill@assembly.ca.gov
 
Assemblyman Michael Allen (Santa Rosa): p (916) 319-2007
Email  Assemblymember.allen@asm.ca.gov
 
Assemblywoman Betsy Butler (Torrance): p (916) 319-2053
Email  Assemblymember.butler@asm.ca.gov
 

Assemblyman Mike Eng (Monterey Park): p (916) 319-2049
Email Assemblymember.eng@assembly.ca.gov
 
Assemblymember Curt Hagman (Chino Hills): p (916) 319-2060
Email Assemblymember.hagman@assembly.ca.gov
 
Assemblyman Jerry Hill (South San Francisco): p (916) 319-2019
Email Assemblymember.hill@assembly.ca.gov
 
Assemblywoman Fiona Ma (San Francisco): p (916) 319-2012
Email Assemblymember.ma@assembly.ca.gov
 
Assemblyman Cameron Smyth (Santa Clarita): p (916) 319-2038
Email Assemblymember.smyth@assembly.ca.gov

Back to The Blog »