Sign Up for Updates

CE Classes

Register for a free CE class today!


Time to Care: RN Patient Advocacy in the Age of Healthcare Restructuring

Health information technology (HIT) has long been used by healthcare corporations to deskill nurses and displace their professional judgment. HIT has also served to distance RNs from their patients and from each other and decrease the amount of time they can devote to direct patient care. As a result of the current HIT boom, RNs are experiencing an intensification of this restructuring of their work, relationships, and care environment. This class will examine specific ways in which RN bedside expertise is being misused as healthcare corporations rush to turn RNs into technicians and pass the responsibility for care onto unlicensed employees, families, and patients themselves. For the sake of their patients and their profession, RNs must utilize collective strategies to combat technological restructuring in healthcare. This class will culminate in a discussion of how to keep the healthcare industry from using HIT to siphon off RNs’ time and skill and instead ensure patients get the care they need.

NEWARK, CA   (CLASS FULL)
Tuesday, October 14, 2014

SACRAMENTO, CA   (CLASS FULL)
Thursday, October 16, 2014

SAN DIEGO, CA
Tuesday, October 21 , 2014

SANTA MONICA, CA   (CLASS FULL)
Monday, October 27 , 2014

WALNUT CREEK, CA  (CLASS FULL)
Thursday, October 30, 2014

BURLINGAME, CA  (CLASS FULL)
Monday, November 3 , 2014

GARDEN GROVE, CA
Wednesday, November 5 , 2014

SAN BERNARDINO, CA
Friday, November 7 , 2014

MONTEREY, CA
Tuesday, November 18, 2014

SANTA CLARA, CA  (CLASS FULL)
Friday, December 5 , 2014

OAKLAND, CA
Wednesday, December 10, 2014



ASSERTIVE ADVOCACY, COMPETENCE AND AUTHORITY: What RNs Need to Know About Acuity Tools, Patient Classification Systems, and Safe Staffing

Patient classification systems (PCs), also known as patient acuity systems, have been in use since the late 1980s. They were originally adapted from industrial time and motion models to manage workloads by identifying and quantifying repetitive tasks and patient needs that can be standardized, measured and timed. This course will review the limitations of these systems which are hostile to the interests of patients. The purpose of the patient classification/acuity tool is to determine individual patient needs and care requirements, while utilizing standards mandated by laws and regulations.

The PCs incorporates the long standing and critical five point scientific patient care model (nursing process) which codifies that the RN is responsible for the assessment, planning, implementation, evaluation, and patient advocacy of each patient. The tool places heavy emphasis on the clinical, scientific and technical components of patient care being mindful of the patient’s response to disease/illness, complications, as well as the patient’s response to the treatment prescribed. RNs must exercise independent competent clinical judgment at all times in determining their patients’ individual needs and care requirements and must do so exclusively in the interest of their patients.

SILVER SPRING, MD
Monday, October 13, 2014

SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA
Tuesday, October 14, 2014

SAN MATEO, CA
Monday, October 20, 2014

EUREKA, CA
Thursday, October 23, 2014

LAS VEGAS, NV
Friday, October 24, 2014

BAKERSFIELD, CA
Tuesday, October 28, 2014

CHICAGO, IL
Thursday, October 30, 2014

CHICO, CA
Thursday, October 30, 2014

SANTA CLARA, CA
Monday, November 3, 2014

SACRAMENTO, CA
Thursday, November 6, 2014

SAN DIEGO, CA
Tuesday, November 11, 2014

SAN RAFAEL, CA
Wednesday, November 12, 2014

MARINA DEL REY, CA
Thursday, November 13, 2014

MODESTO, CA
Wednesday, November 19, 2014

NEWARK, CA    (CLASS FULL)
Thursday, November 20, 2014

OAKLAND, CA
Friday, November 21, 2014

ESCONDIDO, CA
Friday, December 2, 2014

GARDEN GROVE, CA
Thursday, December 4, 2014

DOWNLOAD BROCHURES


STAFFING STANDARDS BY SCOPE, RATIOS, AND ACUITY: How to Promote Safe Patient Care Assignments

This class examines CNA-sponsored uniform safe staffing standards, which mandates staffing by individual patient acuity with the RN ratios as the minimum and identifies strategies that ensure safe patient care standards including safe staffing assignments.

November 14, 2014
San Jose, CA