

Maine State Legislature Augusta, Maine 04333-0002

April 27, 2022

Dear Mr. Sanders, Ms. Coster, and members of the Board of Directors of Maine Medical Center:

We have recently learned that nurses at Maine Medical Center are still in the process of negotiating their first contract after voting resoundingly to form a union in April 2021. We are writing to urge you to negotiate and settle a fair contract with these dedicated health care workers as you, the Chief Executive Officer and Board of Directors, have the ultimate authority to settle this matter.

We are grateful for the valuable work that nurses and all healthcare workers do to provide outstanding service to our communities. Nurses at Maine Medical Center have performed their work under extraordinarily difficult circumstances on the frontlines of this pandemic over the past two years. They have risked the health of themselves and their families treating COVID patients and providing comfort to those who have lost loved ones. Nurses play a pivotal role at Maine Med and having a seat at the table in decisions that affect their working environment will benefit the entire organization by strengthening patient safety, retention of staff and ensuring the voices of frontline employees are heard. We know Maine Medical Center nurses care deeply about improving staffing, safety in the workplace, patient safety and retention of employees. We support progress on all of these fronts as it will benefit all Mainers. We, as elected leaders, respectfully urge Maine Medical Center to negotiate and settle a fair contract in a timely manner.

Thank you for your attention in this important matter.

Sincerely,

Senator Troy Jackson

Ty Juhan

President of the Maine Senate

Representative Ryan Fecteau Speaker of the Maine House

Ryan Feete

and the following Legislators:

House Majority Leader Michelle Dunphy, Old Town

Assistant House Majority Leader Rachel Talbot Ross, Portland

Assistant Senate Majority Leader Matthea Daughtry, Brunswick

State Representative Art Bell, Yarmouth

State Representative Seth Berry, Bowdoinham

State Representative Mark Bryant, Windham

State Representative Barb Wood, Portland

State Representative Rebecca Millett, Cape Elizabeth

State Representative Jan Dodge, Belfast

State Representative Thom Harnett, Gardiner

State Representative Colleen Madigan, Waterville

State Representative Kevin O'Connell, Brewer

State Representative Sarah Pebworth, Blue Hill

State Representative Bill Pluecker, Warren

State Representative Jennifer Poirier, Skowhegan

State Representative Tiffany D Roberts, South Berwick

State Representative Amy Roeder, Bangor

State Representative Sophie Warren, Scarborough

State Representative Bruce White, Waterville

State Representative Poppy Arford, Brunswick

State Representative Ralph Tucker, Brunswick

State Senator Donna Bailey, Saco

State Senator Joseph Rafferty, Kennebunk

State Senator Stacy Brenner, Scarborough

State Representative Maggie O'Neil, Saco

State Representative Lois Reckitt, South Portland

State Representative Laura Supica, Bangor

State Representative Jay McCreight, Harpswell

State Representative Valli Geiger, Rockland

State Representative Suzanne Salisbury, Westbrook

State Representative Charlotte M. Warren, Hallowell

State Representative Stephen Moriarty, Cumberland

State Representative Maureen Terry, Gorham

State Representative Scott Cuddy, Winterport

State Representative Gina Melaragno, Auburn

State Representative Morgan Rielly, Westbrook

State Representative Lori Gramlich, Old Orchard Beach

State Representative Genevieve McDonald, Stonington

State Representative Melanie Sachs, Freeport

State Representative Margaret M Craven, Lewiston

State Representative Victoria Doudera, Camden

State Representative Richard Evans, Dover-Foxcroft

State Representative Grayson Lookner, Portland

State Representative Benjamin Collings, Portland

State Representative Laurie Osher, Orono

State Representative Michele Meyer, Eliot

State Representative Lydia Crafts, Newcastle

State Representative Lynne Williams, Bar Harbor

State Senator Chloe Maxmin, Nobleboro

State Senator Mark Lawrence, Eliot

State Representative Heidi Brooks, Lewiston

State Representative Robert Alley, Beals

State Senator David Miramant, Camden

State Senator Joe Baldacci, Bangor

State Senator Ben Chipman, Portland