Unions Save Lives: The Fight for Workplace Health and Safety and Safe Patient Care

Thousands of nurses and other healthcare workers have been impacted by COVID-19 and hundreds have died because of dangerous working conditions. Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, nurses have been actively advocating for safer working conditions so they can provide safe patient care. This CE class will trace worker advocacy for workplace safety through history, leading up to nurses’ historic advocacy in the current pandemic. We will discuss what lessons this history can offer for nurses’ current workplace safety advocacy. The impetus for collective organizing and workplace safety and health is needed now more than ever. This class will have a special focus on historical advocacy by women workers and workers of color.

Objectives: After the class, participants should be able to:

1. Discuss workers’ advocacy for workplace safety throughout history.
2. Describe steps they can take to advocate for safer patient care conditions.

Instructors: Rocelyn de Leon-Minch and Jane Thomason

2 hours for 2 CEs

Locations

Online
November 10, 2020
9-11am PT/12-2pm ET
Online
November 12, 2020
2-4pm PT/5-7pm ET
Online
November 19, 2020
11am-1pm PT/2-4pm ET
Online
December 1, 2020
9-11am PT/12-2pm ET