Technology, Clinical Judgment, and Patient Advocacy: RNs’ Fight to Protect their Profession and their Communities

New technologies are being deployed in health care at an ever-increasing pace and with little transparency or accountability. This course will discuss the crucial role of nurses in determining how and whether such technology should be employed in the care of their patients. We will analyze how algorithms and related technologies have perpetuated systemic mistreatment of marginalized patients, especially when designed by non-clinicians guided by the goals of profit and efficiency. And we will detail how nurses are fighting to ensure that all communities receive the safe and equitable treatment they deserve.  

Objectives:

  • Explain how purportedly neutral health care technologies can encode biases and perpetuate health disparities
  • Articulate why effective patient advocacy entails safeguarding RNs’ clinical judgment, including the right to override health information technology
  • Describe the limitations of technical fixes to health care, and explain why systemic changes are needed to ensure that technology can produce equitable health outcomes

Instructor: KB Burnside- Oxendine

Course Details

This will be a 2-hour online class via Zoom for 2 hours of continuing education credits. After registering, you will receive an invitation to the Zoom class via email. It is important that you respond to the invitation and register for the Zoom class prior to the day of the class.

Locations

Online
July 30, 2021
10 a.m.–12 p.m. PT/1 p.m.–3 p.m. ET
Online
August 5, 2021
1 p.m.–3 p.m. PT/4 p.m.–6 p.m. ET
Online
August 9, 2021
2 p.m.–4 p.m. PT/5 p.m.–7 p.m. ET
Online
August 19, 2021
10 a.m.–12 p.m. PT/1 p.m.–3 p.m. ET
Online
August 23, 2021
10 a.m.–12 p.m. PT/1 p.m.–3 p.m. ET
Online
September 17, 2021
10 a.m.–12 p.m. PT/1 p.m.–3 p.m. ET
Online
September 30, 2021
3 p.m.–5 p.m. PT/6 p.m.–8 p.m. ET
Online
October 21, 2021
1 p.m.–3 p.m. PT/4 p.m.–6 p.m. ET
Online
October 26, 2021
10 a.m.–12 p.m. PT/1 p.m.–3 p.m. ET